If Only No One Saw!


It halloween night and I was up late just chatting and stuff online. My room is at the front of the house, and I heard this loud noise outside, like someone knocking over metal garbage cans. At close to 2am, this is a strange sound, so I peeked out the window.

I’m not sure I believed what I see, but I cupped my hands around my eyes, to get a good look. Somebody had just ran into the concrete lightpole in our front yard, and knocked it clean down. It was hard to see, but I didn’t see any other cars on the road, or any movement. Then I see a man emerge from the vehicle, I was weary of going outside, since it seemed this man was probably drunk. I opened the window to ask if he’s ok, but he begins walking away. Where’s he going? He was walking on the road, crossing the street….no….he was walking towards another vehicle. That car began backing up…fleeing the scene?!?! I grabbed my phone and head downstairs, called the cops!

As I was standing outside on the phone, somebody drives by and stops to see if everything was ok…and leaves. Shortly after, my neighbour’s son came out (he was up too), and recanted what I just told the police. The cops finally show up with a few other people, first a tow truck driver from down the street looking to make a few extra bucks, but can’t because the cops have a contract with another company. He hangs around anyways. Then Mr. Driver’s parents show up, and lo and behold, the car that was backing up earlier at the time of the accident reappears!

Here’s a quick synopsis, both my neighbour and I saw Mr. Driver walk off and leave the scene. The car he was walking towards, witnessed the accident, then followed Mr. Driver, who called his father to come pick him up. Mr. Father, tried to pass off to the police that HE had been driving, being sober and all. The cops told us, that the Mr. Driver had worked all day, then went to a halloween party, and had 3 beers. By the looks of it, he fell asleep at the wheel. From the time I heard the noise to the time I was “free to go”, after giving my statement etc, took an hour.

Here’s some aftermath:

Where the lightpost once stood..that whitish suff to the right is rubble…he hit it hard enough that it crumbled

This tree is the house next door (not the neighbour that was awake)….it was knocked down by the light standard.

~ by Amir on November 2, 2008.

12 Responses to “If Only No One Saw!”

  1. Thk god he didnt hurt anyone. Hmm chatting at 2am no wonder you’re always tired 🙂

  2. Sounds like you had a very interesting evening. That driver must’ve hit the pole really bad, I mean it has completely broken. I’m glad no one got hurt though. And you had been a responsible citizen to call the cops, even though you knew it would take time answering questions and all. Shabash 🙂

  3. hai hai, forget about the drunk one, the interesting part of this is: why were you chatting at 2am? you naughty naughty…LOL

  4. Goes to show why alcohol is banned in Islam.

  5. OMG, this is awful!

  6. haha quite a tale! The guy’s an idiot… one thing I know is never hit and run! It’s worse than the original crime, but then DUI here is a criminal offense. Glad we Muslims don’t have that problem (er, well, most of us).

    ps. Chatting? At 2 am?

  7. Yikes what a night. Good thing you were awake and there to sort of witness the thing (and had your neighbour to back you up too), maybe it does pay to be up late doing your work!

    Mr. Driver should be very grateful that he didn’t kill himself or anyone else. I hope he’s given a very harsh penalty for his drinking and driving to make him never want to do it again.

  8. well i can really say to the dad of the mr.driver.SIR YOU ARE AN IDIOT.YOUR SON COULD HAVE KILLED SOMEBODY INCLUDING HIMSELF.

  9. Angel: yes, if this had happened on a road, there would have been some major carnage. Chatting at 2am, hush, I was working, well actually I was expecting a colleague from work to call when he ran into issues with some work. He didn’t call…I found out the next day it was because he did it wrong, and didn’t run into the problem he should have :p

    nadia: yeah, the witnesses that saw him hit the pole said he was swerving all over before he hit the pole and was doing 40 km/h. But we laughed and said…no way…he must have been going faster.

    Aya: hey, have you looked at your stock lately? now hush up.

    OG & Specs: YUP!!

    Mezba: yeah that’s why he left, prolly figured no one saw, and called his dad to try and take the fall, since the cops said he lived nearby. Yes, read above explanation, and I have some insomniac friends too, makes the waiting game easier.

    Liya: yeah, that guy deserves what he gets. Dumbass driving after drinking.

    Beyond: Idiot is right! This reminds of me those boys who were racing and killed a pakistani cab driver here last year. These people have no regard for human life. If you drink and drive and kill someone…that’s murder…straight up. My opinion.

  10. It’s murder if it involves loss of life.But what about the lightpost? Have they replaced it? Don’t they know that some people can have sentimental values for lightpost? (giggling,reminded of school days scribbling on lightpost!)

  11. Lat, lol, yes they have replaced it, rather quickly, Monday or Tuesday they did. Well the light post was concrete, and nobody had scribbled or chiseled anything on it 🙂

  12. You should have uploaded this story with the pics to City TV……LOLOL! It’s so thorough!!

Leave a comment