One of THOSE Weeks


I’m sure you’ve had one those weeks where things just don’t go your way. I flew back home this weekend, all pumped up, ready to tackle work on Monday so I can get my to-do list done before I leave Toronto in 2 months. Its Ramadan, you’re fasting, things are on track, and by the end of the week you should feel like you’ve just conquered Mount Everest right? Wrong!

Monday morning, after working on something for close to 3 hours my connection decides to drop me. I thought, no problem…everything should be ok. Wrong again! I had to start from scratch! And for those of you thinking “Why didn’t you save your work?“, I couldn’t because I was actually running an upgrade script…which you basically sit and watch. Well, after I managed to fix what broke due to the connection failure, everything was looking good. Back on track….smile on my face…gonna be a good week. Wrong again. At the very last step of EVERYTHING I’ve been doing….everything spirals downhill.

That’s just Monday. Its been like that with the same thing for 4 days. I will happily report that after 4 loooooonnngg days, my server if finally where it should have been Monday afternoon. Its been a harrowing week. I was so exhausted last night I couldn’t even muster the energy to go to taraweeh.

I hope next week is much smoother. So how has your first week of Ramadan been?

~ by Amir on August 27, 2009.

5 Responses to “One of THOSE Weeks”

  1. I just started fasting yesterday because my mouth took very long to heal and just recently stopped bleeding 😦
    I didn’t have a very good week too.

  2. Ouch, sounds rough. My weeks been pretty good overall. A bit of tiredness, but otherwise good. 🙂

  3. liya: oh man…that sounds bad. BTW what was it you went for? Wisdom teeth? And did V like the website suggestion?

    GS: rough week indeed. Your week has been good…you got a job!!

  4. that’s one rough week. I had a busy week too – unfortunately my boss is Egyptian so he is also fasting which means he doesn’t do lunch and I don’t do lunch and so he thinks of new projects during lunch …

    and the rest of the gov people don’t do any work!

  5. Haleem: hahaha….when I used to work downtown one of brother used to go in the prayer room and sleep. He used a plastic bag full of something for a pillow. About your work people…didn’t you know…not doing work is what a gov’t job is all about 😀 Its only cuz you’re on contract that you get shafted 😉

Leave a comment